Being a Paleo Mom is Never Easy!

Since I began my paleo style of life I have found that it’s not always easy to get others on board with my ideas.  Even though I obtained my degree in Nutrition Science many of my relatives and friends try to question my thoughts on clean form of eating.   I struggle weekly to get family and friends to stick with my food thoughts especially when it comes to my children.  Many times my children will come home from Grandmas house asking for more cookies and crackers which is non-existent in my home.  I try to explain to the importance to my family and friends that eating clean allows for the body to work the way it is supposed to and that eating clean leads to fewer health complications.  I look forward to a day when others around me can fully support my views on nutrition and exercise.

Simple Paleo Pumpkin Soup

2 medium carrots chopped
1 medium onion chopped
1 T coconut oil
1 15oz canned 100% pumpkin  (Organic) or fresh pumpkin which I prefer cooked
1 14oz can unsweetened coconut milk (Organic)
1 14oz free range organic chicken broth
1 package Organic Bacon nitrate/nitrite free (cooked and chopped into small pieces)
3/4 teaspoon sea salt and pepper
1/2 teaspoon fresh ground ginger
2 T freshly snipped cilantro or parsley

Directions:
In a large saucepan, cook carrots and onion in hot coconut oil over medium heat (about 5 minutes) or until vegetables are tender. In a separate large bowl, combine pumpkin, coconut milk and broth. Stir in pepper, salt and ginger. Stir pumpkin mixture into cooked carrot mixture.

Bring to a boil, reduce heat. Simmer uncovered about 10 minutes or until heated throughout – stir frequently. Before serving stir in snipped parsley or cilantro and bacon pieces . Makes 6 – 1 cup servings

The kids love this one!

Leave a Reply

